Mike's Veggie Garden

Mike

Administrator
First name
Mike
Hardiness zone
8a
Here is where I'll be able to keep folks updated on what's going on in my garden...for a while you have to excuse the weeds if I post photos because this garden was put in the middle of a field full of them just this year. Hopefully as years pass by they'll be easier and easier to control but we'll see.

I'll start off with photos of the first harvest from the garden, a handful of radishes I harvested several days ago. This is my first time growing radishes and I was super happy with how they turned out.

Stay tuned and I'll post some photos of the full garden soon.

PXL_20240507_231339480.MP.jpg

One of the first things I grew was Radishes Mike 😎😊

I'm not sure why I've never grown them before. Very low maintenance veggie! They were planted on the opposite end of the garden from other things, almost by themselves, and so they didn't get nearly as much water when they were young as the other things until we got the sprinklers added over there. I was afraid they might die because the soil is very sandy and doesn't hold much water. But, I'm pretty sure every single seed we put in the ground produced. We've got more in the ground now and I fully expect that they'll fully mature too. I may even plant another round when these are done just to see what happens.

Give it a couple of years. We'll be planting palm trees in our front yards.

I'm thinking more like a bunch of cacti. It looks like, at least where I am, the desert is getting closer all the time. We'll have to get @Zigs to give us a few pointers there. Could be that I'm just getting older, though, so the hot/dry just seems hotter/drier.

I'm thinking more like a bunch of cacti. It looks like, at least where I am, the desert is getting closer all the time. We'll have to get @Zigs to give us a few pointers there. Could be that I'm just getting older, though, so the hot/dry just seems hotter/drier.