Howdy From Rain-Soaked East Texas

Meadowlark

My background is varied and started out as a rocket scientist working on the Apollo moon program. After 30 years, that evolved into project management for Lockheed, then consulting for Aerospace Corp, followed by private consulting work, and then my last position as Adjunct Professor. Now, I'm happy to be called a Texas Rancher/Cowboy. I've been fortunate to travel the World on fishing expeditions but those kind of ended with COVID.

Vegetable gardening in my main interest here although I have learned a good bit about flowers from reading @Tetters posts and growing some myself.

Rain...43 inches of rain in the last 18 days and it came another storm last night with Hail an added bonus. I'm afraid to check the vegetable garden this morning.

We've gotten a lot of rain here in north-central Texas too but, thankfully, no hail yet. At least nothing big enough to do any damage. I'm really not sure exactly how much rainfall we've had.

Hopefully everything is still in tact for you!

Really hope there's minimal damage. It is so good to have you here as a member of the new community. We need as much expertise as we can get. ......and there I was thinking you may have overslept 😉

The Hail last night was small by Texas standards, and I found the garden to be in great shape.

This might be an appropriate time to introduce my veggie garden. I consider my veggie garden in three zones: zone 1, zone 2, zone 3. Each zone includes about 4-5 rows that are app 2ft wide by 80 ft long give or take. Each zone has its own rotation program and soil building program.

Let me introduce my zones starting with Zone 1 pictured below.